A Lightroom UI Oddity

One of the things that frustrates me about Lightroom is a UI design choice that is confusing and counter-intuitive. I finally figured out how it works this past week, so I thought I’d share.

I have saved watermarks in Lightroom.  Nothing fancy.  I just want them to line up in different places for a portrait picture versus a landscape picture.  As this blog has progressed, I’ve gone in and tweaked it a couple of times, and wanted to save the change.  Here’s where things get very weird.

First, you can change your saved watermarks without going to the export window, scrolling down, and editing it there. No, it’s available in the menu bar at the top of the screen.  Where?  Oddly enough, it’s in the “Lightroom” dropdown on the far left.  That seems like a very odd place for it, doesn’t it?

Edit Watermarks Position

So maybe they ran out of other logical places to put it.  I don’t know.  So let’s look in on the window that pops up:

Here is the "Done" button

It has all the standard changes you might want to make, and the button in the lower-right corner says “Done.”

Make one tiny little change — and that’s all I did here on the Opacity slider — and you’ll see that the “Done” button becomes a “Save” button:

Seems fairly obvious now, don’t you think?  If you want to save the changes you made to the watermark, click save and update the preset.  Nope:

Done becomes Save after changes begin

You have no choice but to create a NEW watermark this way.  Sure, you could create a new one, go back and delete the original one, and then rename the new one to the old one and go back to work, but that seems ugly, don’t you think?

No, as it turns out, the solution is up top in the dropdown box:

This is where the Update Watermarks option is

You have to choose the dropdown with the names of all the watermark in it, and then choose something near the bottom that says “Update Preset.”  Isn’t that crazy?  Shouldn’t it be so much simpler?  When you click the “Save” button, you should have the option to save the current watermark as the current watermark. I would think that would be the default action.  Maybe in Lightroom 4 they’ll fix this?

Comic fans will note a watermark preset named “Test-AstroCity.”  It was an earlier watermark test I did using the Comicraft font.  Nothing ever came of it, and that needs to be deleted.

Now, can someone explain to me where I go to edit a saved Export preset?  I STILL haven’t found that one!

Be Sociable, Share!
This entry was posted in Tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *